F1 Visa — Biometrics

Arpit Jain
2 min readJun 30, 2018

--

I am sharing my experience of the Biometrics process for US F1 Visa. If you are interested in reading a step by step guide to F1 Visa Interview, click here. To read my Visa interview experience, click here.

  1. Biometrics process is pretty chill.
  2. Documents Required — DS 160 Confirmation, Visa Appointment Confirmation and Passport. (If you are eager beaver maniac and still in doubt, carry I20, SEVIS I-901 Fees Receipt also, but they are of no use.)
  3. Must carry some cash with you (500–1000 INR). Prefer not to carry wallet.
  4. Passport size photographs are NOT required.
  5. In Chennai, they will allow you to carry mobile in switched off mode.
  6. I am not sure about keys, watch and wallets, because I didn’t carry any.
  7. You may wear casuals for this process (I did).
  • Detailed process (As per my experience in Chennai):
  1. My OFC was scheduled for 1:00 PM. I reached by 12:10 PM and was immediately allowed to enter inside.
  2. Post a basic security check, my Passport, DS160 confirmation and Visa Appointment details were cross verified on the first counter.
  3. I was then sent to the next counter, where they put a stamp on my DS160 confirmation and pasted a sticker on my passport.
  4. I was then sent to the counter for biometrics.
  5. The guy asked for Passport and DS160 confirmation page only.
  6. He then asked me to move back and clicked a photograph (specs are to be removed, and yeah, they have DSLR for this.)
  7. I was then asked to provide fingerprints of i) all 4 left hand fingers, ii) all 4 right hand fingers, iii) both thumbs together.
  8. Then he posted one more stamp on my DS160 confirmation page and wished me luck for my next day interview.

NOTE: Oh and the setup is exact same as of the Visa interview. The OFC guy will be sitting behind a screen and speaking in the mic, you will be standing on the other side.

I hope this article helps you with your Visa interview process. Please ping me for any suggestions/feedback, will try to incorporate them. All the best, do well :)

--

--

Arpit Jain

Scalability & Big Data Enthusiast | Microsoft | Sumo Logic | UW Madison | Myntra | IIT Guwahati